Thinker in Residence Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Coming back to Oz

Posted by peggyhora on March 17, 2010

I’m sitting in the Red Carpet Club at San Francisco International Airport waiting to board my plane to return to Oz.  I got upgraded to Business Class so the 14-hour flight will be bearable.  And, since it’s a 10:40 pm flight, I’ll be able to get a full night’s sleep. Oh, joy; oh, rapture.  After I land and clear customs/immigration, I go to the domestic terminal for my flight to Canberra, the country’s capital.  I’ll get there about mid-day Thur., take a nap and prepare to see my friend, Toni Makkai, for dinner.  On Friday I’m touring the Restorative Justice unit of the Attorney General’s department; giving a public speech and being introduced by John Braithwaite (I’m so intimidated); meeting with the Community Safety division; and, doing a short presentation to the judges.  Dr. Inkpen is taking me to dinner.  I’m really looking forward to it.  On Sat., I fly to Adelaide via Melbourne (wouldn’t you know it, the only day without a direct flight to Aderlaide is Saturday) and will be greeted by Pamela and Sue who will take me to my apartment.  I’ve rented the same one I stayed in last time since I’m already acclimated to it and know where everything is.  It will be nice to be back in my Adelaide home.  I’m told that “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” is playing in the theater near my apartment and I just finished reading it tonight before leaving for the airport. I’m going to miss my family and friends but this is such an adventure, I can’t say I’m sad to leave.  I’m looking forward to some exciting times.

Leave a Reply

 
