Thinker in Residence Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Getting home

Posted by peggyhora on September 29, 2009

Lewis Carroll said, “If you don’t know where you are going, any road will get you there.”  I knew I was going home and that it would be long and tiring and worth it when I left Australia on Monday.  Pamela picked me up at my apartment a little before 7:30 and I got to Adeliade airport early.  I checked in only to find that they would not check my bags through to San Francisco.  Evidently Virgin Blue is a codeshare with United but not a partner(?).  The trip to Sydney was about 1 1/2 hours and uneventful except for the fact that water would have cost me $2.50.  Tea was $3.00.  Good grief.  I was too cheap to drink.  In Sydney I fetched my two very large bags, wrestled them onto a cart with my carry on overnighter and purse and tote and spent the next 45 minutes going up and down elevators getting poor information and poor directions to the connecting transportation to the international terminal which is a good 1/2 hour away.  I finally found the bus and some very nice young man helped me wrestle the three suitcases onto it.   I was pretty frustrated when I checked in again with United only to be told Virgin Blue could have checked my bags through to San Francisco.  I consoled myself in the Air New Zealand (a United partner) lounge and waiting for the boarding call.  I settled into my business class seat 6 1/2 hours after leaving my apartment and hunkered down for the 12-hour flight.  There was no one next to me so I didn’t have to worry about the down side of an aisle seat — people needing to use the loo.  I got a few hours sleep, read my Kindle, read the paper, watched TV reruns, couldn’t find a move I wanted to see, couldn’t figure out how to play Bejeweled on the entertainment center, did poorly at Trivia and finally landed at SFO a half hour early.  My BFF Gloria picked me up and we talked like crazy all the way back to my place.  She was house sitting and picking up mail and generally taking care of business for me while  was gone.  She is such a good friend.  She stocked the fridge so I wouldn’t have to go out and even had fresh flowers in the living room.  What a pal!  There’s been lots of drama about my home owners’ association election so I got caught up on my building gossip with my neighbor Don.  We went downstairs to The Counter for a hamburger after he got home from work about 6:30.  I had dozed in my chair during the afternoon so was able to put a sentence or two together at dinner.  I forced myself to stay up until 10:00 and gave up trying to stay in bed after 3:00 a.m. I’ll pay for that later in the day.  I have a call into my hairdresser and manicurist.  Hair like a yak and nails like a komodo dragon.   I have lots of mail to go through and unpackingto do so I’m not exactly wasting time.  Now that I’m home I won’t be blogging as often but do check back every now and again to see the status of my “thinking.”

One Response to “Getting home”

  1. Pamela said

    Oh my god, what a struggle. How can people provide such poor information! You would have been really pleased to see your friend at the other end.

Leave a Reply

 
