Thinker in Residence Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

What a meal!

Posted by peggyhora on September 3, 2009

Cheong Liew’s The Grange e in Adelaide is the stuff foodie dreams are made of.  He’s been named by Food & Wine magazine as one of the world’s best chefs and he is amazing.  We tried the tasting menu called “Migration of Ideas.”  The meal began with an appetizer of boned chidken wing filled with scallop, Iberico ham, and truffle floating in game consomme.  I could have happily drowned in the consomme.  Next was the lobster, sweetbread ravioli with black truffle sauce paired with a 2007 Moss Wood Semillon.  The main dish was grilled Wagyu beef with braised Wagyu cheek with tomato, green olives and orange zest.  The wine was a 2005 Howard Park “Scotsdale” Shiraz.  The dessert was an  Imperial rice and sago square sitting on Anglaise sauce served with truffle ice cream and poached pear.  Next to the consomme I would have killed for the truffle ice cream.  OMG.  The dessert was served with a 2006 Tilboortk Estate “Botrytis” Pino Gris.  If that were not enough, there was a little compiment of six petite dessert cups, tastes, slices of dark chocolate with gold foil, meringue in a chocolate cup, an Oreo with heavenly filling and other things I can’t remember.  Coffee was served with beautiful chocolate fudge with sesame seeds.  Alice, Paul B., Traci des, Joyce G., Thomas Keller, eat your heart out.  I have tasted heaven and this is it.  If I didn’t have any other reason to come back to Adelaide, and I do, I would return just to eat at The Grange (named for a $500/bottle wine) again.  And it would be worth the 20+ hours to get here.

One Response to “What a meal!”

  1. Karmack said

    Ok. So I am sitting here covered in stone dust and rain, belatedly reading about this amazing, orgasmic meal, and I am…validated! I told Brian that THE place to go was down under for his 60th, but he picked Israel and Egypt. I guess I must wait my turn…Peggy, you will be my guide!

Leave a Reply

 
