Thinker in Residence Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Thinking at Rundle Mall

Posted by peggyhora on September 1, 2009

Happy as a pig in rubbish

Happy as a pig in rubbish

Today was a “Thinking Day” meaning I was mostly unprogrammed.  I have one meeting in the late afternoon (more about that later) so I hopped the free bus to Rundle Mall this morning.  I had my nails done, dropped off dry cleaning, got birthday cards for my granddaughter (Madison, 7) and son (Erik, 44), got postage stamps, got a bite to eat and a flat white decaf, went to the South Australian Museum that has a marvelous collection of Aboriginal artifacts and interactive displays, bought two Christmas presents, and jumped back on the bus for home.  Adelaide is starting to feel like a city I know.  It’s really quite logically laid out and I recognize the major streets and landmarks now.  I really could find my way anywhere downtown.  The residential area, however, is a mystery.  I’ve been out there a couple of times but am clueless as to where anything is.  All I know is that it doesn’t take long to get there.  They call Adelaide the “20-minute city” because you can get across town in that amount of time.  I am very comfortable here and although I miss everyone, I’m not the least bit homesick.  I can’t believe I’m in week three already.  I’m learning lots and have a lot more to learn.  It’s been a good day.

Leave a Reply

 
