Thinker in Residence Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Koalas, ‘Roos and the Symphony

Posted by peggyhora on August 16, 2009

IMG_3577Sue King, my project catalyst, her husband Andrew and lovely 16-year-old daughter Georgia and I went koala petting and ‘roo feeding in Cleland Wildlife Park. The tasmanian devils were resting and not very satanic. We first stopped at Mt. Lofty summit for a view of Adelaide and you could see forever. I even got a glimpse of the Gulf of St. Vincent. We ended a lovely Sat. afternoon with lunch in the Sterling Hotel — a sauteed gnocchi with spinach, walnuts and gargonzola. Then home to rest for a bit before Pamela James-Martin and her husband Peter took me to the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra conducted by a brilliant woman, Simone Young. She’s been with both the Hamburg State Opera and the Philharmonic Orchestra. Australian-born, she returned to direct Opera Australia then went to Bergen. Her mastery of Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6 in B minor was stunning. Conducted without music, the third movement was pure heaven. I couldn’t take my eyes off of her. Young pinao virtuoso, Cedric Tiberghien, did a great job on Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 2 in G minor. It just wasn’t my cup of tea. It was very nice of both Sue and Pamela and their families to host me on a Saturday. Made me feel right at home.  I tried my best to rotate this photo so opted to include it sideways.  Just turn your head.

One Response to “Koalas, ‘Roos and the Symphony”

  1. Peggy Whelan said

    How great it would be to be there photographing your every stop! Sounds like things are going great and I’m really happy for you. It appears to be nice weather … correct? Nice to be able to keep up with your activities.

Leave a Reply

 
